Comparison

Decodo alternatives: what to check before you switch

Comparing a Decodo alternative? The published numbers, the questions their pricing page leaves open, and a ten minute test that beats every review.

HProxy Team··6 min read
HProxy.Comparison

Free proxies won't hold up here.

Shared datacenter IPs get flagged and dropped fast. When it has to hold, gaming, streaming, accounts, you need mobile and residential IPs that read as a real device, from $0.44/GB, pay as you go.

Residential proxies

The market Decodo trades in has a wide honesty range. Some vendors publish every tier, some publish a starting rate that nobody reaches, and a few publish nothing at all. Knowing which kind you are looking at is half the decision.

What is on their pricing page

Read from their own public pricing pages on 10 August 2026, and stated as advertised rather than as verified by us:

  • ISP: from $3.33 per IP with no commitment, falling to $0.27 per IP on not disclosed; appears only in a plan-comparison table for the shared 'Pay per IP' plan, with no purchasable tier behind it.
  • Mobile: from $4 per GB with no commitment, falling to $2.25 per GB on not purchasable; page says only 'Plans start at $2.25/GB for high-volume tiers' with no tier shown.
  • Residential: from $4 per GB with no commitment, falling to $2 per GB on 1,000GB plan.

Every one of those is a published rate rather than a measured outcome. That is not a criticism of Decodo: our own page is built from the same material. It is the reason the rest of this comparison is about what published rates leave out.

How Decodo presents itself

On 9 September 2026 their homepage carried the title "Decodo - All-in-One Proxy and Web Scraping Platform". Written for search engines, their description says: "125M+ residential, mobile, ISP and datacenter proxies, plus a powerful Web Scraping API. Collect public web data at scale with 99.99% uptime. Start with Decodo today."

Also on the page, stated plainly:

The product lines named on that page are residential, datacenter, ISP or static residential, mobile, SOCKS5 and a scraping or SERP API. They advertise 195 countries or locations. The page offers some form of free trial. A refund or money-back term is mentioned. Their pricing page is titled "Buy Proxies: Residential, Datacenter, ISP and Mobile, Decodo".

Those are claims, and claims are free. They earn their place here only because the date makes them checkable later.

What the registration record shows

The domain was registered on 2 May 2006, through GoDaddy.com, LLC, which makes it about 20 years old. Registry data as of 23 April 2026. The Internet Archive holds 20 snapshots of the site, the earliest from September 2002. It is paid up until 2 May 2030.

Read that as a floor rather than a recommendation. Longevity says somebody has kept paying the registrar, and in a market with this much churn that is worth ten seconds of your attention.

What we hold on ownership and naming: Formerly Smartproxy (rebranded 2025-04-22); Backed by Tesonet, Lithuanian entity TESO LT, UAB; In the Tesonet portfolio; Decodo is the former Smartproxy and the rename is complete.

The shape of their site

We crawled 1.171 pages of their site on 18 June 2026 and found 418 blog pages, 9 pricing pages, 20 use-case pages and 57 integration pages.

That mix tells you how the company sells. Heavy location pages mean a geography-led pitch, heavy blog means a search-led one, and a single pricing page usually means one simple offer or one sales call.

What the timestamps show

Our crawl of their site found 1,170 pages carrying a date, 418 of them articles. The oldest is from July 2024 and the newest from August 2026. 937 of them carry a date inside the last twelve months.

An actively maintained site is table stakes rather than a recommendation. It does rule out the failure that costs buyers the most here, which is prepaying a company that has quietly stopped.

The questions Decodo gets asked

The Keyword Planner puts brand demand at 430 a month: 210 a month for their pricing, 140 a month for a review of them and 80 a month for an alternative to them. Figures read from Google Keyword Planner on 9 September 2026.

Monthly searches carrying the Decodo name, by what the searcher wants
Looking for the price
210 a month
Looking for a review
140 a month
Looking for an alternative
80 a month
Source: Google Keyword Planner, worldwide, read 9 September 2026. Terms counted: decodo pricing, decodo review, decodo alternative, decodo alternatives.

Weighted towards people trying to work out what it costs. A comparison that ignores that and opens with a pitch has misread the room.

The top bid on those terms reaches $9.52 a click. That is the market pricing its own customers, and it explains why almost every other result you found is an affiliate page.

The parts no marketing page answers

Coverage in the one country you need

Almost every provider claims almost every country. What differs is depth, and depth decides whether a single city or a single carrier is usable. No published figure tells you that.

The response time nobody advertises

Every provider works when nothing is wrong. The difference shows up on the day a subnet gets flagged or a gateway stops answering. Before committing volume, send one real question through the support channel and time the reply.

Nothing here stays true for long

Supply changes hands quietly in this industry. The network behind a brand can be replaced with no announcement, which is why a benchmark is a perishable good and a re-test is cheap insurance.

Side by side, with the blanks left blank

This is the shortest table that still decides the purchase:

Question to askDecodoHProxy
Entry pricePublished, see above, dated 10 August 2026From $0.44/GB, pay as you go
Does unused balance expire?On their own terms pageNever
Minimum commitmentLower rates require one, see aboveNone
Identity checksWorth confirming in writing before you commitCard orders are screened, and verification is sometimes requested
TargetingTheir terms page answers thisCountry, city and ISP
Free way to evaluateCheck the current terms, this one movesFree proxy list and proxy checker

Nothing in that table settles the decision on its own. It narrows the field to two or three, and then measurement finishes the job.

The ten minute version of this decision

For a few dollars you can get a verdict specific to your job, which no comparison page can honestly promise you.

  1. Buy the minimum each side offers. Prefer a small paid batch over a trial, because trial traffic does not always ride the same pool.
  2. Send an identical workload through each: same target, same tooling, same time of day, same request mix.
  3. Measure what came back correctly and what it consumed, then divide the spend by the successes.
  4. Push a sample of exit addresses through an independent checker and confirm the country and connection type are what was advertised.
  5. Keep whichever pool won on your job. Re-run this whenever success rate drops or the bill moves.

The other names that come up

Other providers in the same bracket, priced and dated the same way:

Our side of it

What we offer is one account holding residential, ISP, mobile and datacenter, priced from $0.44 per GB on residential, with no tier to climb and no allocation to lose at month end. Whether that suits you depends on how steady your volume is.

Frequently asked questions

Why look for a Decodo alternative at all?
The usual reasons any buyer compares two providers: the pricing model stopped fitting the usage pattern, a target started blocking, a specific country underperformed, a balance expired, or support went quiet. None of those is visible from a marketing page, which is why a small paid test on your own target settles it faster than any review.
What does Decodo advertise?
Read from their own published pricing on 10 August 2026: ISP: from $3.33 per IP with no commitment, falling to $0.27 per IP on not disclosed; appears only in a plan-comparison table for the shared 'Pay per IP' plan, with no purchasable tier behind it. Mobile: from $4 per GB with no commitment, falling to $2.25 per GB on not purchasable; page says only 'Plans start at $2.25/GB for high-volume tiers' with no tier shown. Residential: from $4 per GB with no commitment, falling to $2 per GB on 1,000GB plan. Advertised is the operative word, and prices move, so treat the date as part of the number.
How do I compare two providers fairly?
Match the units first, because residential is billed per gigabyte, datacenter and ISP per address, and mobile per day or per port. Then compare the rate you can actually reach today rather than the volume tier behind a commitment. Finish by measuring the success rate on your own target, since a cheap request that fails costs more than a dearer one that works.
Is a cheaper provider usually worse?
Not reliably. Price in this market reflects the supply model and the sales overhead as much as the network. What price does not tell you is the success rate on your target, and that is the figure that decides whether the cheaper option was cheap or expensive. Measure before assuming either way.
How often should I re-test a provider?
Quarterly is a reasonable rhythm for most workloads, and immediately after a noticeable drop in success rate. Pools are rebuilt, suppliers change and detection improves, so a benchmark from last year describes a network that no longer exists.

Proxies that don't die mid-job

Residential, ISP, datacenter and mobile, verified by the same engine that runs tens of millions of checks. They read as a real device and hold up under load. Pay as you go, and your balance never expires. $0.44/GB is the 2,000 GB+ rate; a single gigabyte is $0.50/GB, with no minimum order.

129M+ proxy checks run · 100+ countries · HTTP / HTTPS / SOCKS · re-checked every few minutes · no signup